History of Rocky Springs Park
The fascinating history of Rocky Springs Park reaches back to 1855, when Michael Trissler purchased land containing a natural spring along the Conestoga River. He named it Rocky Springs. By 1860, with its two-and-a-half story brick mansion, it was functioning as an inn and picnicking ground. In 1899, major changes began, when the property was sold to Thomas Rees of Pittsburgh. Herman Griffiths also came to live in the mansion as the manager. Under Griffiths guidance, Rocky Springs grew into what would become Lancaster’s landmark amusement and entertainment park.
Church organizations, businesses, private families, and individuals flocked here to enjoy the summer months – holding camp meetings, picnics, dances in pavilions – and to the bathing area by the river. Amusement rides, concessions, a ballroom, and a theatre drew as many as 10,000 people on a weekend.
In the Mid 1920′s, young Joseph Figari moved to Lancaster and began selling concessions at Rocky Springs Park. By 1935, he had purchased the park, retaining ownership until its closing in 1966. During those years, Rock Springs Park continued to expand. While it is not yet known through research exactly when each attraction appeared, the park came to include ball fields, bowling lanes, a rollerskating rink, a public pool, and more. For over one-hundred years, Rocky Springs Park was an important hub of social activity in Lancaster County.
Today, the site of the former Rocky Springs Amusement Park plays host to one of the most beautiful bed and breakfasts in Lancaster PA. Our desire is to continue the endearing legacy of Rocky Springs by providing a peaceful, restful and elegant experience for our guests. Whether for a romantic get-away, a relaxing vacation stay, or a respite from the rigors of a demanding business trip, come, step back in time, and be a part of our history at Rocky Springs Bed and Breakfast in Lancaster PA..
For a more extensive history of Rocky Springs Park, visit rockyspringspark.org.
Continue your tour—